top of page
  • Writer's pictureJeff Powers

More On Intervals Music Theory (part 6)

Updated: Feb 11

Intervals within the 12 note chromatic scale.

We'll start on C because the C major scale has no sharps or flats but it's all relative as you will see. This is a prep for demonstrating how scales and chords are made.

1st/Unison C and C *

Minor 2nd C to Db

Major 2nd C to D

Minor 3rd C to Eb

Major 3rd C to E 

Perfect 4th C to F 

Augmented 4th C to F# (tritone)

Diminished 5th C to Gb (tritone)

Perfect 5th C to G

Minor 6th C to Ab

Major 6th C to A

Minor 7th C to Bb

Major 7th C to B 

Octave/8ve C to C (12 notes above) 


Diminished 1st/Unison C to Cb 

Augmented 1st/Unison C to C# 

Augmented 2nd C to B#

Augmented 3rd C to E#

Unison = stable

Minor 2nd = dissonant 

Major 2nd = dissonant

Minor 3rd = consonant

Major 3rd = consonant

Perfect 4th = consonant

Aug 4th (tritone) = dissonant

Dim 5th (tritone) = dissonant

Perfect 5th = consonant/stable

Minor 6th = consonant

Major 6th = consonant

Minor 7th = dissonant

Major 7th  = dissonant

Octave/8ve = stable

Dissonance in traditional music wants to resolve to a consonant interval or to a stable chord

Guitar Lessons Cleveland Oh

Guitar Lessons Online

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page